The current European regulations mandatory for the labeling of all foods containing cereals with gluten (wheat, rye, barley, oats, spelled, kamut and triticale). Cereals are an important source of carbohydrates and dietary proteins. Cereals are cultivated grasses and their pollen can cause allergy, especially rhinoconjunctivitis and asthma. On the other hand, they can also give allergy when it starts. These two allergies, however, are independent so that those allergic to grass pollen can eat cereals. Keep in mind that cereals can be used as thickening or filling agents and can be found in processed meat products, beverages and other processed foods.

Gluten is a protein found in some grasses. Cereals containing gluten are wheat, barley, rye, oats, kamut, spelled and hybrid variety and products derived from these cereals such as flours, starches, starches or semolina. Below is a list of names that can also indicate the presence of gluten: starch, flavoring, aroma, thickener, stabilizer, cereal extract, gliadin, gluten, glutenin, malt, starch [modified (E-1404 and E-1452 ), vegetable, gelatinized], vegetable protein, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, textured vegetable protein, flavoring (natural and artificial).